Picture this

So a few weeks ago, I went to see a coworker at her desk. She was not there, but I sat at her seat and looked around for something to write her a note with. My eyes fell upon a piece of paper with a list of all our research departments salaries. This was not for me to look at, but I spied it and glanced. I did not see what everyone makes, but I saw enough to get extremely pissed. I always thought I was underpaid and it is confirmed. Now I don’t remember the exact amounts or who they were, but I know it wasn’t me. Because it was significantly higher then my salary.

Well I got pissed. Not to gloat or anything but I am probably one of the best damn coordinators in my office. I have been carrying the most patients and studies for the last 2 years. And I make a lower amount then these other people that SUCKS SWEATY BALLS!

Side note I do have very fowl language I have been mild lately, so if this shocks you stop reading sorry!

I looked for another job. I found a few working for a big pharma company and I sent my resume. Yesterday I received an email for a phone screen. Now chances of me getting the job are slim, but one can dream. And it is where I want to end up. Downside job is not in Atlanta. Upside salary is double what I currently make.

Now I have been working in the amazing field of clinical research for the past 5 years and I truly love it. I began as a research assistant at a site that did major mental disorder research- you know bipolar, schizophrenia, depression and anxiety. As a psychology major in college, I thought this is it I love crazy people. And I do love crazy people. Well there I was made into a study coordinator, then an assistant clinical operations manager. I didn’t like the later position. It was a hard time in my life personally and I didn’t feel it was right for me. So i stepped down and within a few months left the company. Plus I really despised the people I was working for. They were not good crazy people.

Then I was offered my current job here as a clinical research coordinator. I love what I do, but this is not what I want to do for the rest of my life. And I am underpaid and have realized I will always be underpaid if I work at research sites. And I had confirmation of that a few weeks ago.

I am now ready to leave. Now is as good as ever. You know my company is merging with a major hospital in the Atlanta area and our research department is going to the hospital. I have been granteed a a job, but I am still worried I will not have one come the end of the year. This is why that piece of paper was at my coworkers desk. She has been preparing all the documents for the merge.

So today at lunch, we had Chinese food and this was my fortune…

20111201-154803.jpg

This means a few things to me. I always struggle to have money, so will the struggle stop? Will things just get right? Or will I receive a new job with alot more money? I am currently hoping for the later, but we shall see.

Ps I haven’t heard anything about a phone screen with the big pharma company, but I have looked some more and there are more jobs out there. Not any in Atlanta though. I guess I might just have to move…

One thing down on my list of things to do before I turn 40. Move. I believe it was also something I needed to do when all the craziness surrounding my lovely ex OHM was going on. I wanted to get my son away from him. Now it will be hard for Goose, but I think we will survive.

Now I do have list of places I want to move. 1. Boston, not sure why. I have just always wanted to live there 2. Portland, Maine or Oregon. Actually don’t care which one. Probably Oregon if I had to chose because it is such a hippy city and I am such a hippy. 3. Dublin, Ireland. Going overseas would be the hardest, but for goose to say he grew up in Ireland would be awesome. 4. New York city, and I know there is no way I could afford to live in manhattan, but I do love that city. And there is a few other places, but those are the true ones. Those are the places my heart belongs.

So now, how does one move to another city? How does one relocate their whole life and just start over somewhere new? Especially if one is not a people person? Hmmm… questions and things to be figured out…

Leave a Reply

